Massachusetts Advocates for Children


MAC is proud to have honored some of Massachusetts’s strongest voices for children.

These individuals each contributed significantly to improving access to opportunity for children and embodied MAC’s core mission and values.


2017 Honorees

The Honorable Alice Wolf

Legislative and Policy Champion for Children
Leader, Advocate, Mentor

Oswald “Oz” Mondejar

Visionary Leader in Workforce Inclusion
Senior Vice President, Partners Continuing Care


2016 Honoree

Michael Curry, Esq.

Leader, Advocate, Mentor
President, Boston Branch of the NAACP


2015 Honoree

Charlotte Golar Richie

Champion for equality and opportunity for children and families

Legislative Champion Awards:

Senator Sal DiDomenico

Massachusetts State Senator

Rep. Ruth Balser

Massachusetts House of Representatives


2014 Honorees

Dr. Katherine Butler Jones

Educator * Author * Activist

 Tina-Marie Johnson

Code of Conduct Advisory Council ( COCAC )
The Sondra Peskoe Individual Advocacy Award

Youth Caper Verdean Community Unido in Dorchester

The John Mudd Organizational Advocacy Award


2013 Honorees

Hon. Robert DeLeo

Massachusetts House Speaker
Through the Laws of the Land Award

Marie Duggan

Founder- Technology For Autism Now, Inc
Through the Heart of a Parent Award

Jackie Jenkins-Scott

President of Wheelock College
Through the Caring community Award

Zachary Kerr

Youth Advocate of the Year YAY! Award


2012 Honorees

Beverly and Miriam Schwartz

Co-creators of the Somerville Project- MAC’s Somerville Special Education Advocacy
The Heart of Advocacy Award

 David Bartley

Massachusetts House Representative

Michael Daly

House Chair of the Education Committee
Massachusetts House Representative

Ben Brea, Kate Brea, and Christian Baker

Advocating for the Well-being of Siblings of Children with Autism
YAY! Award Celebrating the 40th Anniversary of Special Education

Boston University Department of Occupational Therapy Youth Marketing & Research Panel

Learning and Promoting Self-Advocacy for Youth with Disabilities to Change their Environment
YAY! Award Celebrating the 40th Anniversary of Special Education

Sociedad Latina Youth Community Organizers (YCO)

“Learn to Teach Us” Campaign to Promote Cultural Proficiency in the Boston Public Schools
The John Mudd YAY! Award for Organizations


2011 Honorees

The HOPE Coalition Peer Leaders

Youth Advocate of the Year YAY! Award

Nathan Richards

Youth Advocate of the Year YAY! Award

  Rep. Tom Sannicandro

Massachusetts State Representative, 7th District
Through the Laws of the Land Award

 John Mudd

Boston School Reform Project
Through the Caring Community Award


2010 Honorees

The Boston Student Advisory Council

Through the Eyes of a Child Award

Dr. Anne S. Larkin

Prof. Emerita, Lesley University
Heart of a Parent Award

Dr. Renald Raphael

Haitian Parent Empowerment Group
Caring of Community Award

Rep. Barbara L’Italien

Massachusetts Legislator
Laws of the Land Award


2009 Honorees

Martha Minow

 Dean of Harvard Law School

Marian Wright Edelman

Founder & President of the Children’s Defense Fund


With a tribute to:

the late Senator Edward M. Kennedy

Massachusetts State Senator